I Am My Worst Critic

Share on Facebook

perfectionistI am my worst critic. Many a blog post has been scrapped for not being up to par to my standards. Many an idea has been buried for not being worthy of being voiced by me. However, does every post you ink have to be of the utmost quality? Does every idea you build up on need to be well thought out and perfect?

Sometimes I feel that to provide the steam that any blog requires, sometimes you have to settle for not so perfect. I don’t mean that one spews forth junk for the sake of populating the RSS feed! Quality does trump quantity any day. However, sometimes stopping short of pristine is necessary to keep things going. In addition, the higher output, while not perfect, does end up improving the writing quality in the long run. Call it “Practice makes perfect” if you will.

Why am I writing this? Well considering The Pulpit is well my pulpit I should be using it to rant, rave, blow steam, praise, criticize, blah, blah, blah. Well actually I just scrapped yet another post and felt like berating myself for it. Hence, this is the product.

What do you think? “What do I think about what?” I don’t know. Just write whatever comes to mind below. 🙂

9 thoughts on “I Am My Worst Critic”

  1. Dear Aly B: I think you are going through the same dilemma, every writer goes through during his life period. He is always searching for his master piece… to keep that hope alive, he keeps on writing from Junk pieces to Master pieces…. and as he is a writer so this process has no ending. So keep on scribbling , as we want some more quality stuff 😉

    Like

  2. Salaam sir,
    I’ve been following your blog for quite some time. I wholeheartedly agree with what you have posted above. I have been trying to write something myself, something that helps me reflect on myself and that it should bring about a realization that strikes me more than anyone who reads it.
    I truly believe that to generate a deep impact on others through an article, every word of the article should have been felt by the writer. But that can’t happen all the time. Our speech isn’t perfect and neither are our actions. So we shouldn’t expect something extraordinary all the time.
    In addition to that, sometimes what we feel is ordinary might actually touch someone. You never know, the effect your words can have. All I’d say is that, if we keep our intentions clear, inshaAllah what we write can have far-reaching positive consequences.

    Like

    1. Wa-Alaikum Assalam
      > if we keep our intentions clear, inshaAllah what we write can have far-reaching positive consequences.
      That is very true!! Unfortunately, old habits die hard but I’m working on them! 🙂

      -Aly

      Like

  3. Assalam o alaikum

    I like to read what you are scribbling even though you don’t put them on ur the blog. Though my advice us “Quit being a perfectionist, it will make life lot easier”.

    Wassalam
    AAJ

    Like

  4. If I had a rupee for every post I’ve deleted/lost commitment on/postponed because it wasn’t “just right”….. Seriously, it’s a very disabling problem in that productivity to limit hoti hi hai, you start approaching each new post with caution rather than anticipation or excitement. And even though I’m under no illusions about the quality of my writing and the strength my readership and all, I still agonize over each new idea. The result is a huge backlog of stuff that should’ve been written ages ago.

    Cheers…

    Like

Leave a Reply

